Sunday, September 25, 2011

Singapore GP: Vettel takes the win, not the title

Sebastian Vettel stormed to his ninth victory of the season, dominating the Singapore GP from lights to flag

The Red Bull driver was incredibly quick, absolutely sublime, flawless, faultless and just about every other adjective one could use to describe arguably the most dominant drive seen this season.

However, Vettel's Singapore win was not enough to ensure him of the World title as Jenson Button put in an equally brilliant drive.

Taking second through the first corner, as was his pre-race place, Button pulled away from the chasing pack and was pretty much assured of P2 before even the halfway stage of the grand prix.

Mark Webber finished in third place after thrice overtaking Fernando Alonso, who had to settle for fourth, his first Singapore GP off the podium.

Meanwhile, Lewis Hamilton once again caused the drama of the grand prix as he crashed into Felipe Massa while they were battling for position.

The incident broke Hamilton's nose and left Massa with a puncture. It also earned Hamilton a drive-through penalty and dropped him all the way back to P16.

But while Massa struggled to come back from the collision, Hamilton stormed through the field to finish in fifth place. Massa was P9.

There was, as predicted, one Safety Car situation during the grand prix when Michael Schumacher crashed heavily on lap 30.

Fighting with Sergio Perez for position, the seven-time World Champ carried too much speed as Perez braked for the corner, resulting in Schumacher hitting the back of the Sauber, launching into the air, landing heavily and smashing into the barriers nose first.

Thankfully Schumacher was not hurt.

01. Vettel Red Bull-Renault 1h59:06.537
02. Button McLaren-Mercedes + 1.737
03. Webber Red Bull-Renault + 29.279
04. Alonso Ferrari + 55.449
05. Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes + 1:07.766
06. Di Resta Force India-Mercedes + 1:51.067
07. Rosberg Mercedes + 1 lap
08. Sutil Force India-Mercedes + 1 lap
09. Massa Ferrari + 1 lap
10. Perez Sauber-Ferrari + 1 lap
11. Maldonado Williams-Cosworth + 1 lap
12. Buemi Toro Rosso-Ferrari + 1 lap
13. Barrichello Williams-Cosworth + 1 lap
14. Kobayashi Sauber-Ferrari + 2 laps
15. Senna Renault + 2 laps
16. Kovalainen Lotus-Renault + 2 laps
17. Petrov Renault + 2 laps
18. D'Ambrosio Virgin-Cosworth + 2 laps
19. Ricciardo HRT-Cosworth + 4 laps
20. Liuzzi HRT-Cosworth + 4 laps
21. Alguersuari Toro Rosso-Ferrari + 5 laps

Did Not Finish
Trulli Lotus-Renault 48
Schumacher Mercedes 29
Glock Virgin-Cosworth 10

No comments: