Sunday, September 9, 2012

Italian GP: Hamilton Claims First Monza Win

Lewis Hamilton led from lights to flag as he dominanted the Italian GP, taking an easy win ahead of the late-stopping Sergio Perez

Hamilton got off the perfect start especially as Felipe Massa took second, putting a buffer between Hamilton and his McLaren team-mate Jenson Button. Button's challenge ended on lap 34 when he parked his McLaren on the side of the track with a suspected fuel pick-up problem.
Button's demise freed up the Ferraris with first Massa and then Fernando Alonso leading their charge. However, the Ferrari drivers were quickly picked off by Sergio Perez as the late-stopping Sauber driver took first Massa and then Alonso as he put his much-fresher Pirellis too good use.
Perez, though, didn't have enough laps to catch Hamilton as, despite being a second per lap quicker, he was 11s behind when he climbed to second place.
Hamilton eventually crossed the line 4.3s in front of the Mexican driver, taking his third win of the season and the much-needed 25 points.
Alonso completed the podium, bagging another 15 points towards his Championship lead, which increased to 37 points over Hamilton and an additional one ahead of Kimi Raikkonen and two ahead of Sebastian Vettel.
The Red Bull racer had a difficult day as he was slapped with a drive-through penalty for pushing Alonso off the track at the Curva Grande and then broken down five laps from the end. He stopped on the side of the track after being told quite frantically to "stop the car, we need to save the engine."
Massa was fourth ahead of Kimi Raikkonen and Michael Schumacher and Nico Rosberg. Mark Webber was a late retirement, pulling into the pits on the penultimate lap, elevating Paul di Resta to eight.
Race Results
01. Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 1h19:41.221
02. Perez Sauber-Ferrari + 4.356
03. Alonso Ferrari + 20.594
04. Massa Ferrari + 29.667
05. Raikkonen Lotus-Renault + 30.881
06. Schumacher Mercedes + 31.259
07. Rosberg Mercedes + 33.550
08. Di Resta Force India-Mercedes + 41.057
09. Kobayashi Sauber-Ferrari + 43.898
11. Senna Williams-Renault + 48.144
12. Maldonado Williams-Renault + 48.682
10. Ricciardo Toro Rosso-Ferrari + 50.316
13. d'Ambrosio Lotus-Renault + 1:15.861
14. Kovalainen Caterham-Renault + 1 lap
15. Petrov Caterham-Renault + 1 lap
16. Pic Marussia-Cosworth + 1 lap
17. Glock Marussia-Cosworth + 1 lap
18. De la Rosa HRT-Cosworth + 1 lap
19. Karthikeyan HRT-Cosworth + 1 lap
20. Webber Red Bull-Renault + 2 laps
21. Hulkenberg Force India-Mercedes + 3 laps
22. Vettel Red Bull-Renault + 6 laps

Did Not Finish
Button McLaren-Mercedes 32
Vergne Toro Rosso-Ferrari 8

Source: Planet-F1

No comments: